Hi everyone. My name is Jonathan and I live in NC. I am a private pilot since 2004 and am wanting to soon get my instrument. Most all of my time up until this point has been in Pipers (Archer/Arrow and Dakota) but I started out with about 10 hours of training in a 172 but as fate would have it I was switched one night to the archer due to maintenance on the Cessna and immediately fell in love with a low wing and haven't looked back. I recently did a basic intro to aerobatics ride in a Decathlon and immediately realized it was something I wanted more of! I have always had the dream of owning my own plane but the maintenance aspect of it always scared me away. I spent about 6 years as the lead mechanic on professional race teams and wrenching on my own cars and just cringe at the thought of having to pay large amounts of money to someone for work I am very capable of doing myself. I then happened upon an RV8 and its lucky owner at a local field and he open my eyes to the experimental world which I had never really looked at before. I found this forum and have been doing a lot of reading lately and even found a local member (Bill-fixnflyguy) and he was gracious enough to invite me to his field and show me around and look over his plane and offer me a ride sometime in the near future when schedules and weather permits. As of now I have not been up in an RV but from reading and watching YouTube I am fairly certain a ride will only make me want one that much more. With my current schedule (and lack of patience to get in and fly) I have elected to search for a completed plane. The misses doesn't want to be stuck in the back so I will be looking for a 6 or 7 so she can be up front. But it seems the RV will fit the bill perfectly for what I am looking for in a plane. I want something fast for long trips, IFR capable to do my training as well as fly some light IFR, Aerobatic and economical. Being able to tinker and upgrade myself is a huge plus. I look forward to the new frie