pastranafan5

This is my first build. I'm buying the 7A. On the options page it talks about fuel sending units. Are there not sending units included in the kit or are you choosing which type you want, and which type do I want? Also, it has a static kit option. Again, are there not static ports included in the kit and do I want that?

So, think of it this way, the less that comes with "the kit", the more opportunity you have to do what you want and the added value of the learning experience. For fuel sending units, you have the "option" to use what Vans considers "standard" resistive senders or capacitive senders. The resistive senders have moving parts with a pot. Capacitive senders have no moving parts. We shouldn't tell you which you want. It is your research opportunity to decide for yourself.
Similar deal for the static ports. Of course you have to have a static system, but the parts consist of a pop rivet (that is the port) and some tubing. You don't have to buy the "kit" from Vans, you might just assemble your own parts or buy something else like the SafeAir kit.

You are just starting on a grand adventure that will change your life if you stick with it! Again, Welcome!

Welcome

Welcome Dennis.

I'm not first but I am building a 7a. I agree with the research. I don't think Vans sells the Capacitive Sending units anymore. You might call before you stress over it too much. They are easy to make if you decide to go that route.
You also need to choose standard fuel pickup or flop tube.
Then there's brakes, tires, etc.
Oh and of course the Primer War!:D

7A Options

Welcome. I'm also building a 7A. Structure is done, finishing landing gear and starting wiring, planning on an engine next summer. More options will include which landing lights, whether you want electric trim or manual and then various options for finishing fiberglass parts and tons of options in the avionics and electrical systems.