tfoster100

Well Known Member
Sponsor
Friend
Hello, I have been reading your forum off an on for the last year. Just officially joined and donated to the cause. Thanks for this great website.

I am currently studying for my PPL. My question is - should i learn in a 172 or similar flight school plane, or try to take flying lessons in an RV. I am hooked on the RV's from reading this site and hearing about the benefits of these planes over other planes.

I am wondering if its better to get started on a 172 and then after some experience under my belt graduate up to an RV if possible.

Thanks

Tim

Aspiring future RV9A owner and pilot.

Tim,
Welcome to VAF! Unfortunately getting primary instruction for your PPL in an RV, or any other E-AB certifed aircraft, is pretty much a no-go unless you own it. Then you can hire a willing CFI and get'r done. Otherwise you're stuck renting a Spam Can.

A number of folks without PPLs have built their planes first and then went on to get their ratings. Of course, if you have the funds you can also just go buy a completed RV and shorten the process considerably. However, I think the conservative thing to do is to start taking lessons and see where that takes you. Van's and/or RV's will be there when you're ready.

Last edited:
Welcome to VAF!!!!

Hello, I have been reading your forum off an on for the last year. Just officially joined and donated to the cause. Thanks for this great website.

Tim, Aspiring future RV9A owner and pilot.

Tim, welcome to the best RV site on the planet :D

Here is my $.02 worth of advice-------start your training in the 172 or other typical flight school bird. After you get to feeling comfortable in it, go for a ride in an RV, and compare how it flys, and then decide if you will feel comfortable learning in it.

The big thing that is going to get in the way, far as I can tell, is finding an instructor to teach you in the RV-----and you will probably need to be the owner as was already mentioned.