propsync

Well Known Member
Hi Group,

I'm new to Experimentals and VANs in general. I'm most impressed with the available cruising speeds of these models.

I'm considering buying a completed RV or possibly building one, maybe even both at the same time.

I'm mostly interested in the RV7 and RV9. I must confess, I have read the VAN's description of both aircraft, but I'm still not entirely sure which one suits me best.

From what I have read, the 7 is good for aerobatics and can cruise faster than the 9, but that is generally because one can choose a 200HP engine for the 7. The 9 has a slightly longer wingspan but very little difference in cruise speed on a per horse power basis. The 9 can do limited aerobatics.

Other than those things, I'm not sure how else to compare the two models? Any real world help here?

Additionally, it seems clear that most builders are using MPH instead of knots, was curious why?

I like the idea of the sliding canopy and building in access in the panels directly.

Thanks for your tips. I've attending my first EAA meeting just a few weeks ago here in Tampa.

Tom

Last edited:
Hi Tom - Welcome!

There are a number of differences between the 7 and 9 but for many pilots, the decision point is "aerobatics" or "not aerobatics". That may be the easiest way to settle on one vs the other. IF you want to do any aerobatics, you would want to go with the RV-7.

The RV-9 handles smaller engines than the RV-7 and has slightly slower stalls speeds. Both make nice cross country platforms.

Welcome to VAF!!!!

Tom, welcome aboard VAF:D

The 9 uses a different airfoil, and has longer wings too.

As was stated, not "aerobatic"-----but then some folks do such stuff with them.

The real way to figure out the answer is to define your mission at the outset, and then work toward it.

For what it is worth, I was talking to Ken at Vans a month or two ago, and he said for a cross country plane, his first choice is the 9.