sstspin

All -
I'm a USAF pilot in a non-flying job for a couple years and in the hunt for a good RV-4. I've got 3000+ hrs - mostly in jets, but I'm also a proud owner of a newly restored J-3 w/ some time in that and a smattering of other GA-types. I see the RV-4 as fitting my needs almost perfectly - performance, cost & rdo/xpdr for the local ADIZ/FRZ (Wash DC area).
I'm in contact w/ several folks w/ RV-4s on the sale block, but I'm fairly certain I'm not asking all the important questions.
I've studied the RV-4 for nearly ten years, but haven't flown one and have only a bit of hangar-flying w/ guys who own(ed) one. I have a quasi buyers checklist I've built on my own, but figure it could be made more robust. I prefer LH throttle quadrant, w/ elec flaps & trim. A couple 4's I'm considering are manual trim or panel mounted engine/prop controls. I'm an A&P so I'm interested in the complexity of converting those to my desired configuration. Anyway - if anyone can give me a vector in my effort I'd sure appreciate it.
Thanks -
"Trash" Thomas

I dont know much about the -4, other than I think it is the best looking RV, by far.

But, what I really want to do is welcome you aboard.

Mike

Trash,
Coverting from panel mounted to left hand quadrant shouldn't be too dificult, you can buy a pre-made quadrant just about anywhere, installation is pretty strait forward. The electric flaps are a little tricky, vans sells a kit that supplies everything you need. I suggest getting the one with the replacement weldment, PN: RV-4 EF-C. As for the servo in the back for the trim, this one had me stumped for a while and I ended up making my own version and it worked out great. The plans for it are a little confusing, but really it's just a little motor pushing a tab back and forth. Don't over think it. =)