bsacks05

Well Known Member
I have been flying my -9 for 7 years and 800 hrs. The ignition is wired mostly per Vans simple schematic. I just installed a new PC680 battery, started the engine, the voltmeter rose above 16 and the alt breaker popped as it should. Shut down and restarted as always with the master and alt on, then hit the starter. Same thing happened twice more. Assuming I hooked up the new battery correctly, and I can't see anything amiss, why is this happening?
The old battery was barely able to turn the prop, but the new one turns it with authority, as it should.
The alternator is externally regulated. I ordered a new voltage regulator, circuit breaker, and master/alt field toggle switch. They should be here in a few days.
It is hard to believe that one of these components would give up at the same time I installed a new battery and I'm thinking its something I did wrong while installing the batt, I just can't imagine what that could be.
Any ideas?

Sounds like the regulator simply failed. Could have been on its way out anyway, and the installation of the new battery was just what pushed it over the edge. One of the best choices for an external voltage regulator is an automotive unit for a mid 1970's Ford LTD with big V8 engine... about $27 at most auto parts stores. That's what I replaced mine with.

I got nothing - -

If it was low initial charge, then the voltage would not run away.

Voltage on the wire going to the regulator should be the same as measured by your instrumentation. If it is not, then the regulator would not be getting the correct signal. The only thing that comes to my mind is a bad ground to the alternator that completes the circuit. (or wire back to ground through the engine)

Is there a single ground wire on that side of the battery?

I would go back and check all the connections one step from the battery to be sure they are tight.

Let us know what you find, as a tech teacher, you probably already know this.

Good Luck.