steve murray

Well Known Member
Just started flying my RV8 (I am a new tailwheel pilot) and have expereiced an unpleasant event twice. :eek: (My guess is it is my technique)

I have got the touchdown part workig pretty good, but twice with a crosswing coming from the right, and the tail now on the ground, I have found myself going to the right edge of the runway. I keep adding more left rudder but it feels and behaves like the rear wheel is not engaged to the steering mechanism at all. On the last event, I had full left rudder but no effect and I had to apply breaking action to the left wheel to prevent egressing the runway into the grass.

I checked my rear wheel tonight and it appears to be functioning correctly, it locks in place when straight and breaks free when put into a sharp turn.

I am wondering if something in my technique is causing the wheel to break free and I am losing steering capability?

Would really appreciate some thoughts

Tyres and Gyroscopics

Steve,
In a crosswind you need to stop any swing AS SOON AS IT STARTS. The further out the tail swings, the more it wants to continue.
It would be better to fractionally over control and keep the nose on the downwind side of the centre line.

Other possibilities are;
Lowering the tail quickly (the same as raising it quickly) will induce a swing, caused by gyroscopic precession of the prop.

Also, you might check the inflation of your right tyre.

Pete.

Practice and brakes

Steve: