N131RV

Well Known Member
Hi all. I've been commuting to Houston (Cypress) from Elmendorf for the last 3 years or so. The company I contract with is moving their headquarters from Jones Road (NW Side) to San Felipe (West side).

Normally I fly into KEYQ (Weiser) where I keep an old beater car and make the 5 minute drive to work.

Well, it's more like an hour from EYQ to 5599 San Felipe so I have been looking for alternate places to land.

These come to Mind:

KTME (Houston Executive) 29.5 miles (40 minute drive)
KIWS( West Houston) 18 miles (31 minutes)
KAXH (Southwest Houston) 20 miles (37 minutes)
O07 (Westheimer) 21.2 miles (26 minutes).
KSGR (Sugarland) 17.8 miles (28 minutes).

So I'm just looking for information on these airports (or any others close by) from anyone with first hand experience. Contact names and numbers greatly appreciated.

KAXH was super friendly when I called on the phone.

Haven't been able to get hold of the PTB at the others yet.

I'm looking for a friendly place to park my airport car (full time) and tie down my RV7 (between two and three times a week). I need to buy gas in Houston since I don't have any at my home field. I'm willing to pay reasonable fees if necessary. I use about 60 gallons per week.

If there is a reasonable hangar option, I am all ears. Renting tie down is also agreeable.

Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.

Ahhh.. Schlumberger... GeoQuest maybe?

I spent several years in that building.

EYQ is definately the closest airport to 5599 San Felipe. But the only problem is that you have to deal with 290. That can be a pain.

Westheimer would be okay because you can jump on the Westpark Tollway and be right into the 5599 San Felipe Area fairly quickly. But the airport leaves a lot to be desired and I'm not real sure about fuel being available there or not. I'm guessing ~20 minutes in rush hour.