suprspooky

I'm New Here
Hi All,

I'm a soon to be RV builder (hopefully). I'm thinking about buying a pre-owned 7A QB Kit that I saw in the VAF Classifieds. I'm new to the build process (toured Van's and got a ride in a 6 some years back). I have lots of questions but I'll focus on the QB kit for sale in this thread.

The kit for sale has a finished Emp. some work done to the Wings an an un-touched Fuse. Will I be able to get a Repairmans Cert. if I do the rest of the build?

I also would like input on the risk factor/pitfalls of buying an already started project (please only respond if you have personal experience or have helped someone work on a second hand project).

I'm thinking about buying it after seeing photo's (it's 1700 miles away), I'd rather have an experienced builder look at it first but don't know how to make that happen. Does anyone have any recomendations (the Kit seller is in Bend OR), I could budget some extra travel expense $ if someone in that area was willing to look it over for me.

Thanks,

Dave

You might want to call Gary Brown out of Independence, OR. He's a DAR and has built his RV that he flies around to do inspections with. It would be just a quick hop over the mountains for him. If you do a search on the forums here you'll see a few times where he's posted his contact info.

FWIW, even though it's a quickbuild, I would never buy a kit sight unseen (in person).

Good luck.

I just got my repairman's certificate last week. I started with a quick build kit farther along than the one your looking at. I brought all my logs, build manual, ect, and the guy didnt want to see any of it. He asked me a couple of simple questions like, how many hours did it take and what is the cruise speed. :p