rainsux

Well Known Member
NACOmatic: Website suspended

That's the message you will receive if you visit the site.

After 2.5 years, my web-hoster has determined that PDF
files are no longer allowable content. They gave me precisely
seven (count'm 7) minutes of notice.

I am searching for a new web hoster. I push 20+ TB/month of
traffic; so the usual suspects are unaffordable. i.e. Amazon's
service would cost me north of $2,000/month ... donations
average less than $20/month. I cannot afford to cover the gap
myself.

If anyone has FIRST-HAND experience with a reliable/budget
web-hoster, I'm all ears:

[email protected]

Last edited:
Bluehost works

I use bluehost - seems to work but I'm not pushing anywhere near the traffic levels. Seven big ones a month.

Look at Gator.

I used to do this for a living and hated to start using someone elses hosting service but I have found Gator Hosting to be reliable and inexpensive.

Please don't take this the wrong way: "unlimited" bandwidth is a numbers game, assuming there are no big users...and they are losing money on you, assuming it's a sub-$100/mo shared provider. Cost at a dedicated host is at least a few hundred bucks.

A place like 100tb.com will get you 100TB/mo for a little over $200, but you'll also have the headache of completely managing the server...much different than if you are using a shared host now. Same with something like a cheap "unmetered" (like a flow limited pipe) server at a place like fdcservers.net... Mostly though, you will see prices much, much higher...

Another strategy would be to try shared hosts that have giant or "unlimited" bandwidth numbers -- but just be ready to move in a moments notice if/when the same things happen again once they notice (regardless of their quality -- most will have a clause against hosting downloads in their TOS) as they are losing money on your account. If you're prepared for it, its an option.