Frank Smidler

Well Known Member
After 14-1/2 years of building RV-6 serial number 21585 made it's maiden flight at Purdue University Airport (KLAF), Lafayette, IN. The plane flew flawlessly, the pilot not so. 96FS has basic instruments and an O-360-A1A Lyc with fixed pitch Sterba wood prop. It was inspected November 20 by Tony Cecere with no major issue.

The delayed first flight was due to delays in getting transition training and winter weather in Indiana. The first trip to Alex De Dominicis in TX for training was weathered out in early December. The second trip the last week of December found more cooperative weather and we got our flights in. The transition training with Alex was a good investment and was well worth a second trip to TX. He clearly showed me how the RV should be flown and what I needed to watch for in a higher performance aircraft. I am a 200 hour pilot and came away comfortable that I could fly my plane safely. Thank you Alex.

I made the first flight myself with Tom Henderson in his RV-8 in chase with my youngest son in the back seat taking pictures. The overcast was not ideal but trying to get an ideal day in January wasn't likely and I wanted to get the flight in while my training from Alex was still fresh in my mind. The only problems I had were minor. During taxi I had my hand on the flip flop button on the stick and did not hear my clearance from ground control. I had a hard time hearing the radio clearly with my headset, I'll have to get an ANR set. I was thinking about the landing and came into the pattern 800 feet too high. No problem getting it down with a slightly extended downwind. The landing was smooth and straight. I was a little high on the flare but held the landing attitude as Alex taught me and it settled in nicely.

Thanks to everyone on this list, especially Doug Reeves for providing this forum, you all have contributed to my success today.

DSC00950.jpg

N96FS%20First%20Flight%20Complete%20006.jpg

DSC00937.jpg