trib

Well Known Member
Yesterday (12/12) was clear and sunny, temps here in Virginia Beach at 30F at 0800, and N621TR which started as kit 24808 in 1996 was ready to go after 13 years in the making. I'm a low time pilot (80 hours) and not looking to start the "who makes the first flight wars" will venture to say that I wanted to do this myself if at all possible. I went to Florida and had transition training with Jan Bussell (highly recommended) and stayed with Ed D'Arcy from the RV Hotel (thanks again Ed!). I was a bit apprehensive (as a reasonable person should be) but took the plunge. I had planned the first flight with my flight advisor previously. My 5 person ground crew was briefed, a kiss for luck planted by my wife, and after coaxing the engine to start in the freezing temps, I taxied out to runway 23 at KCPK with an empty pattern. One of my crew was stationed at midfield to get that picture of the mains first departing the ground (boy was that a mistake):eek:. Gradually applying throttle had me off the ground in 5 seconds, way before full throttle, and although I don't know the distance, boy was it short! Here's what it looked like before the mid-field decision point.

125nal1.jpg