mannanj

Well Known Member
After 4 1/2 years and after being asked "when is it going to fly?" and my
saying "Thursday", about half a million times, N161RL flew Thurs.29 June.
She's an RV-8 slow build, IO-360-A3B6D, McCauley (ugh.) Prop, Sam James
Cowl.

Can't give any hard numbers now. She took off like a rocket, probably
1500-1800 agl. by the end of the 5500 ft. runway. I'm new to the constant
speed prop thing, so I was a little slow to think to pull the Prop back.
When I looked down, the tach was showing 3100 rpm. Holy S--t! Pulled the
Prop Control back ---- nothing! Had to pull the Throttle back to nearly
idle to get the rpms below 2500. Needless to say first priority was to get
on the ground, NOW. She handled great. I think she would have flown hands off. Landing was a greaser wheel landing. Kept her a little hot, just in
case, didn't want to land short. Course I didn't want to go-around either.

She had run up fine. Previous full power check showed a little over 2600
rpm static. Don't have a clue as to what went wrong. Prop was a new
overhaul, Govenor was a new MT from Van's. Have pulled the Prop and Gov.
Both going to the Prop Shop Wed the 5th.

Needless to say the "grin" was there; though a little dulled by the
set-back.

Mannan Thomason
RV-8

Congratulations!

Way to go Mannan! A first flight, and an unexpected event handled well - glad for you that both worked out well!

I had the opposite rpm experience on my first flight - I looked down at the gauges after getting on downwind and saw only 1800 RPM....but it was obvious she was running MUCH better than that - turned out to be a missed setting in my engine monitor. Hope yours is simple (and not too expensive)!

Paul

Congrats

Congrats on a first flight despite the problems.

Just a thought, did it sound like 3100 rpms? If not, maybe your instrument is wrong. Did the prop cycle properly on the ground?

Good luck, let everyone know the results.

Darwin: Re: 3100rpm