TomH

Size, color requirements for exterior N numbers and any help with where to order, these are for before paint and DAR inspection. Thanks

n-numbers

Experimental a/c need numbers that are 3" and larger.

I am about to order 3" numbers from:

Marilyn
AeroGraphics
800-336-9633

She said: The 3" numbers are $15.00 plus shipping. If we send in the mail the postage will be $4.00.

I have never worked with them before and so I cannot report on the quality.

Barry

Marking sizes

3" numbers are okay for the RV series. I can't remember the exact FAR but I believe anything with normal cruise under 180 knots can use the 3 inch markings. Above that you need to use 12 inch.

Aircraft Spruce and similar suppliers sell stencils for this purpose. Some have a long lead time so order early. You might order two sets in case you're going to use one pre-paint and then will need another for the paint shop. I think most paint shops will do this for you although if you have a particular syle you like you might want to provide your own stencil.

Chris

BTW,
Numbers may be 2" on RV-3 since the design is over 30 years old. Also you may exclude the "experimental" placard by placing an X in the N number. i.e. NX168TX. See FAR part 45.22 (b).

2" Experimental on fuselage sides?

Check http://www.rvdar.com/FAR_45.htm

There are links to the FAA FARs in the above summary.

A DAR required a friend of mine to place those 2" Experimental decals under the sliding canopy on each side of the plane (RV9A), as "required" in your link to the FARs.

Seems that most RV's only have the decal on the baggage bulkhead. I wonder what the deal is. In the case of the 9A, it isn't painted, and I don't believe these decals will survive a paint job. :D

L.Adamson

One of the benifits of living in a state that starts with the letter "N" is I can use the Nebraska Cornhusker's "N".

http://j.b5z.net/i/u/2048250/i/left_wing.JPG