10_year_plan

I'm New Here
Is to build an RV-7. I am a pilot and also learning the trade of aircraft maintenance. You will see me here quite allot, seeking answers, ideas, motivation etc. I have been taken for a flight in an -7 and was sold that it was a great aircraft. What pushed me over the line is I have recently started working in a maintainence hanger and have heard nothing but good things about it from engineers and engineers that are also pilots.

As my user name says, I have a 10 year plan. In 10 years from now, I want to have started the process of building the actual aircraft. That means having facilities ready, money saved, tools and logistics arranged etc. I will need to speak to a financial planner, because I also need things like a car, rent/mortgage etc. In any case, I hope to have the aircraft flying before I'm stupid enough to have kids

I have chosen an RV-7 because it is everything you could ask for in a 2 seater. Great speed EXCELLENT short field performance, great aerobatics, as true 2-seater as you can have, decent resale value, experimental. The only "catch" being you build it yourself.

I have a few ideas floating about it already. I can make it available for my kids/families kids/other family to use it as a very cheap platform to do flight training in. I can set myself up as a travelling engineer/pilot. I can retire or take long service leave and explore the world (I might fly to Oshkosh from Australia!) I may even be able to offer myself as an emergency logistics (will have to research the legalities on that one)

I will want to make it a full IFR with modern avionics, CSU and 200hp. Conventional gear, 02 and the ability to run on mogas at times.

10 years, saving 9k a year (in todays dollars) will have me a handsome 90k to play with. I am currently 22, and if I start being frugal now, I may even get started in 8 ;)

If there is anyone in the Sydney area, give me a PM. Maybe we can have a chat about this over my home brew.

Welcome