SlowJoe

I am a student pilot, and am hoping to order a tail kit soon. I've read pretty much every thread on the 7 vs 9 question. But I still can't make up my mind. Since I am very low time, there are some things about the nine that appeal to me. However, by the time I get her built, I'm sure I will be much more experienced as a pilot.

My question is how the 7 and 9 compare to the DA 20 I am training in. In the pattern, I pitch for 80 and put in the first notch of flaps. After I turn final, I pitch for 75 and put in the final notch of flaps and maintain this speed until I flare for landing.

How does this compare to the speeds for the 7 and 9? I know the 9 has a lower stall speed, but what I want to know is what do you fly your approaches at. Is the 7 a lot "hotter"?

Also, I've heard people say the DA 20 is like a glider. How does it compare to the wing on the 9. People say the 9 "floats" a bit. Is it similar to the Diamond?

Finally, will the 9 with a 360 keep up in cruise with the 7's with 360's?

Thanks

Joe

I am a student pilot, and am hoping to order a tail kit soon. I've read pretty much every thread on the 7 vs 9 question. But I still can't make up my mind. Since I am very low time, there are some things about the nine that appeal to me. However, by the time I get her built, I'm sure I will be much more experienced as a pilot.

My question is how the 7 and 9 compare to the DA 20 I am training in. In the pattern, I pitch for 80 and put in the first notch of flaps. After I turn final, I pitch for 75 and put in the final notch of flaps and maintain this speed until I flare for landing.

How does this compare to the speeds for the 7 and 9? I know the 9 has a lower stall speed, but what I want to know is what do you fly your approaches at. Is the 7 a lot "hotter"?