Stewie

Well Known Member
Patron
Hi all-
I am in rented shop/hangar and will need to move out by August. Based on projected RV4 build time and my weekly shop hours, I will be cutting it close. I am curious if you all can give me some advice on what can be reasonably foregone in order to get the plane inspected/in the air so that I do not have to trailer it out? (I searched VAF on this topic but didn't find anything - please redirect me if this has been answered elsewhere). I will have plenty of free time after the move to sew things up.
Thanks everyone!
Eric

Hard to understand your question. What are you asking?

If your "schedule" says you are cutting it close, my prediction is that you won't make it.
I've been building and inspecting amateur-built aircraft for over 30 years, and rarely, if ever see one finished "on schedule".

Hi Mel-
Thanks for your question. To clarify: I have told the owner of the shop I will be out by late summer. I am working full time on the plane, and consistently log 40-50 hours per week. I understand that some RVs are "never done", but based on Van's 2000-2200 hour build time, and that I am sticking to the plans with minimal mods, I feel like I can guess a rough finish date. If avoiding painting, or wheelpants, etc.would move my finish time up even a few weeks, that would be significantly helpful.
Hope that clarifies the question, and thanks for your input.
Eric

So, what is the current status of the plane???

It is pretty hard to give any answers to your question unless we know if you just opened the shipping crate yesterday, or have it on its wheels, and the engine mounted ----- or somewhere in between.

Photos would be nice

Where are you in the build process?

Hi all-