RICHARD HUTSON

Does anyone know what effect Sleep Apnea has on your medical? Does the use of a CPAP Machine have any effect on the FAA's ruling on the subject?

I don't have the answer for sure but I might suggest going to the AOPA website and look in the Turbo Medical area and see what they say.

RICHARD HUTSON said:
Does anyone know what effect Sleep Apnea has on your medical? Does the use of a CPAP Machine have any effect on the FAA's ruling on the subject?
http://www.aopa.org/members/files/medical/authority/sleep.html

Sleep apnea

Richard

I have some knowledge of sleep apnea from my prior occupation envolving the FAA medical and I wish to not elaborate on that. The FAA did, a few years back, look very dimly on apnea but then you state you have CPAP machine, so, if you are using the machine, you cannot have sleep apnea now can you? Therefore, you have no medical condition to report as it is now "fixed" during a routine medical evaluation which I would imagine the visit to the doctor was. Policy here is "don't kick a sleeping dog". If you need more info email [email protected] (drop the 2 for it to work).

DickDe

Sleep Apnea

Hello Richard - -

I have obstructive sleep apnea, and I grounded myself about 18 months ago while I sorted out the various issues. (I'm just about ready to reapply for my medical, and I expect some paperwork, but I'm optimistically building my RV7a)

I checked with the AOPA, and (if I recall correctly) you need your physician to certify that you have no med issues that would affect your ability to fly an airplane. (I would double check with AOPA for the latest info) Also, check with your AME on what you need to bring him (or her).

If you are on CPAP, ensure that you are 100 percent compliant. No naps without the PAP. If you have high blood pressure, you need to have that controlled. (Mine is fine except for so-called "white coat" hypertension, but I'm working on that, as well.)