B-Binns

Gentlemen/Women: I have recently joined Van's Airforce site and have really enjoyed reading the many forum threads. By way of introduction, I am a pilot (I renew my CFI certificate every 2 years via the AOPA online renewal program so the certificate remains "current", but I have not actually flown since 2006 . . . way too long.) I want to make flying/aviation a central part of my life again but I Do Not Want to Rent. And a realistic self-appraisal informs me that my life does not support a self-build project . . . even with the many Build Assistance programs available to guide one who chooses to begin that journey through each phase of the build process. I work full-time, and cannot devote the enormous time, mental/emotional expenditure a self-build project would demand. So . . . if I want to fly an RV I have to buy one. I have no problem with that. Since starting to seriously learn/research the various Experimental aircraft on the market, my attention quickly narrowed to the RV6-7 / Lancair Legacy. Either one is a spectacular aircraft. Like all of you, I am Blown Away by the Bang-for-Buck comparison to the standard certified fleet: C172s, 182s; Cirrus SR20-22s, etc. My search through aircraft-for-sale sites, and here at Van's AF, indicates that the ballpark Price-range for RV 6/7's goes from about 45K for very basic VFR only - - to maybe 130K for a Solid Glass Full IFR, Oshkosh Trophy Competitor. Also, I've read all of "Ask the DAR" series of articles by Mel Asberry in Kitplane Magazine which I recently subscribed to (they're are great by the way) to gain an understanding of the regulatory lay of the land when it comes to building-buying-modifying Experimental/Amateur Built aircraft. I basically understand the 51% (major portion rule), but I still am not clear on the legally allowable extent one can purchase a successfully completed and certified experimental aircraft (Ex. RV6-7 series) and thereafter modify it to fit the Buyer?s specific needs following t