andrew phillips

Well Known Member
I have one electronic ign and 1 slick mag. Did the mag timing after annual and removal of mag for gasket replacement. Not fun the first time but after 10 or so tries I got it right...I think.

Question, I have never run on the mag only while in flight. It controls the lower plugs. Today I thought I would give it a try. I have the timing set at about 24 1/2 BTDC. 25 is spec. When I switched to the mag the rpm held strong but the EGTs when up quite high. I didn't let them go to see where they stopped. Is this normal? Do I have advance or retard the timing?

I have two mags, anyway I think it?s normal, I get the same thing when I do in-flight mag checks the EGT climbs fast so I get it back to both in short order, just long enough to see that both mags are running good.

Andrew, I am no expert but I am pretty sure it works like this.

When you run on two mags ignition starts in two different places in the cylinder. When you run on just one the flame front has further to go to complete the burn, and before it does the exhaust valve opens. As a result you now have flame not hot exhaust going down the pipe. (I know its hard to imagine this all going on at 40 times a second!) The flame is hotter than the exhaust so you see the EGT shoot up.

I have two P-mags and it was interesting to see when I advanced them both by 5 deg. the EGT dropped - the combustion was more complete. Conversley, the CHT rose very slightly because the work was being done in the cylinder, not the exhaust pipe.

So the bottom line, you are seeing what you should expect.

That's right, the dual plugs are there because Avgas burns so slow and the piston is so big you need to start on either side and meet in the middle to complete the combustion event in time. With a single plug, you have effectively doubled the distance that the flame front has to travel... Just doesn't have enough time to burn completely, and it becomes an "external" combustion engine.