hecilopter

Well Known Member
With all the talk of raising GA fuel tax by .75/gal, I wonder how much effort/reward a company like Superior/ECI could get if they were to design a modified XP-360 engine to specifically run on Ethanol enhanced auto fuel.

I'm not an engine expert, but if they could change/modify appropriate seals, valves, etc. and come out with an XPA-360 (XP, Auto fuel) version of an engine, it seems like it would be a big seller.

Even if they could come out with an engine that you had to put a $5 per tank additive in to make it run on auto fuel, it would still be way worth it in the end if these GA fuel taxes get implemented.

I know there are people who haul fuel between their local gas station and the airport, but how practical would that be if all of GA started doing it? The FAA would just come up with a way to tax MOGAS when used in an aircraft. Or they'd decide that the gas tax wasn't working and come up with a "yearly fee" that you had to pay instead. As long as they keep coming up with ways to spend more money, they're going to get us to pay one way or another.

PJ
RV-10 #40032

I am no expert, but the problems with ethanol go beyond effects on hoses, seals, and gaskets. If those were the only problems I'm sure it would be relatively easy to to make changes so that you could run on ethanol. The problems include the affinity for water, which can then come out of solution at altitude, causing the engine to run rough or quit, or even freeze causing a complete blockage of fuel. I'm sure others more knowledgable than me will know of other problems with ethanol.

Fuel Tax