the_other_dougreeves

Well Known Member
As a LSA pilot, my biggest limitation and fear have always been gusty winds. I came across this NTSB narrative while trying to find out what happened to the Evektor that Aviator Air at GPM used to rent. Sadly, the airplane was substantially damaged during a crosswind takeoff.

The narrative (below) seems to confirm my worries about LSA in gusty conditions. The crosswind component during the incident was 8G11, at a 40 deg crosswind. This is above my personal crosswind limitations of 7G10, but just.

Notes:
* 35kt in the Evektor is right at stall speed.
* This is the first NTSB entry for the SportStar

The 6,100-hour airline transport pilot lost control of the tricycle-gear airplane while taking-off from Runway 17. The pilot reported that during takeoff, while the single-engine airplane accelerated through approximately 35 knots, he experienced a strong left crosswind resulting in a 20 to 25 degree weathervane into the wind. The pilot added that he was not able to compensate, even after applying full right rudder, right aileron, and throttle. Subsequently, the airplane went-off the side of the runway. During the runway excursion, the airplane ran over a drainage ditch and the airplane became airborne for approximately 4-5 feet. The airplane finally impacted the ground on the right main landing gear in a nose-low attitude. The right main landing gear and nose landing gear collapsed The airplane came to rest in the upright position on a parallel taxiway. There was no fire. The pilot was not injured and the passenger bumped her arm; however, she did not required medical attention. Both occupants were able to egress the airplane unassisted. The weather at the airport was reported as winds from 210 degrees at 11 knots, gusting to 16 knots, visibility 10 statute miles, clear skies, temperature 32 degrees Celsius, dew point 15 degrees Celsius, with an altimeter setting of 29.87 inches of Mercury.

Distractions