dschuh

I'm New Here
Hi im in the market for a RV4. I am a new pilot and have only flown 150's and 172's. What would be the best set up for a newer pilot? All I really want it for is to just fly around the area and have fun.

I have seen a couple of 4's for 35000 and I am wondering if those are no good to buy. Any help about choosing a 4 would be great.

thanks

Hi dschuh! (Strange name that.)

You are looking at a great plane but be aware you are heading towards a slight problem....not insurmountable. Assuming you are a low time pilot it would make sense to pay a little more rather than less time getting checked out, and ideally in a -4. Many (most -4?) do not have a complete set of controls in the back for a check pilot so think about this issue and how you plan to get safely around it.

Hopefully someone can come forward with a positive plan to help you.

As to how to find a good -4 you might want to contact Smokey Ray. he has offered to help people find aircraft in the past I think.

Good luck.

Ok thanks for the reply. So do you really think it is a good idea to get a RV4 for a first airplane? I am 20 years old and want a sporty looking airplane and the 4 fits it.
thanks, dillon schuh

Welcome....

...to the forums, Dillon. It would be easier to find a flight school with a Citabria to do a tailwheel checkout in. If you can handle the Citabria, you shouldn't have any trouble with the -4. Your insurance company is probably gonna require 5-10 hours of tailwheel RV time as well. BTW, the -4 is a great ride and a fast cross-country performer too. While you're doing the tailwheel training, have the CFI teach you some basic acro as well, since the -4 is built to do pretty good acro.

Regards,

ok thanks. does anyone have a rv4 in the sacramento area? I would love to have a ride in one. Will pay. Just want to get in one and see whats its like to make sure this is the right aircraft for me.

And how much will the insurance be. just a guess