Don

Well Known Member
My RV9A build is taking longer than I expected. I'm getting closer (working on the panel, and need to finish the canopy...then on to the engine, wiring and fiberglass). I've been flying a Cherokee 140 for 13+ years but since flying a certain Russian's RV9A, the Cherokee has lost some appeal. A friend of mine says an hour of air time is an hour of air time but I know better now. At age 61 I can't help but wonder when I'll encounter a medical issue that disqualifies me for a 3rd class medical.

Sometimes I'm slow to realize my options. It just occurred to me that I can replace the Cherokee with an "interim" RV until I finish my dream plane. Flying would be fun again and the circle of what's one, two, or three away is bigger in an RV than a Cherokee. Heck, with an RV Homecoming, LOE, and the Black Hills fly-in all seem do-able. To my surprise and delight Wife was fine with the plan. Her only requirement was the plane has to have room for both of us and dog (under 20 lbs) and some baggage. That seems doable.

I've been checking ads and talking to my insurance agent. She has me leaning toward the A models as the tail draggers are a fair amount more to insure. But, at the right price, I'm okay with either model. And right now seems to be a buyers market.

What I'd like to know is, what are the thoughts here about how much difference it makes as to which model RV I buy? What I'm looking for would be day/night VFR and I prefer a glass panel, but to say I'm flexible, is a gross understatement. I'd consider just about any RV if the price was right.