comfortcat

Well Known Member
Friend
Greetings!

I almost NEVER go off-plans for anything. I'm a systems analyst, not an engineer. BUT after looking at the VAF postings about rudder pedals, I thought I would have a look.

First, spending $50 on four bolts to solve a problem that may not be a problem at all seemed pretty excessive to me.

I saw guys buying steel, aluminum and brass rod, taping it, and bolting it into place as an alternative to bolts but I also saw that as a little excessive.

So, I bought a bit of 3/16" brass rod, cut to size and drilled it for a cotter key. Here is the result.

Can anyone think of ANY reason why the shaft would need to have a nut? (by th way, i used s 5/64 drill to do the hole)

Thanx!

142bxhu.jpg

2n0uclk.jpg

My opinion---------looks like it should work fine, it achieves the same effect of using a long bolt, that being getting the pivot axis in line.

My only concern is in a hard braking situation, you are going to put a lot of sheering force on a piece of brass instead of steel.

David,
Off topic observation....all parts get filed or sanded smooth, with rounded edges. It is a metal fatigue issue as well as pride of craftsmanship thing.

My opinion---------looks like it should work fine, it achieves the same effect of using a long bolt, that being getting the pivot axis in line.

My only concern is in a hard braking situation, you are going to put a lot of sheering force on a piece of brass instead of steel.

The shear force is way higher than 500 lbs. so should not be a problem...:)

Wear from the brass rotating inside the steel tab might be a problem though.

Corrosion

I seem to recall that brass and aluminum don't get along well, but I could certainly have it wrong. Engineers, what say you?

Sorry guys

But I used a length of all thread, appropriately sized, from Home depot aviation stores, stop nutted appropriately.

Maybe not the most craftsman like, but effective, simple and cheap.

PS - I think the brass is fine.