Ron B.

Well Known Member
My 2000' grass strip has a 69,000 volt transmition line on the western end. I've been building it for the last 15 years, and for more than that I've witnessed the local power people inspect the line via helicopter. Today we were experiencing a black out and I was putting things away for the season (construction equipment). Due to the power outage I witnessed this inspection via helicopter again. But this time I was on the grass strip, usually I'm at home when they go by.
Viewing the helicopter from the strip changed my opinion on the inspection procedure. Had an aircraft been departing at the same time, (which is very unlikely, but could happen) both pilots would only have a couple seconds to respond and the responce would have to be the correct manover to avoid a colision. The helicopter was about 30 ft above the wires , might have been higher as I was 2000' away. Our RV-10 usually is much higher over the wires as are the Super Cubs but the 172 stationed here does pass in that area some warm days.
My question, is this a acceptable risk? Should the helicopter have a procedure when crossing the end of my registered strip? I'm thinking it could check the poles just before my strip and circle back and cross the strip center field then if all clear continue down the line.
I had the power corp. install three large balls on the lines but they fell off in the first year. I've contacted all the local authorities but no one knows who is responsible for the balls. The proverbial we'll get back to you.
I always look at the "what ifs". This one's a long shot, but the image I have now in my head after today is not one I want to see on lift off .
Ron

Realistically?

Probably should plan on using good rules of the road. . . .look both ways before crossing the street or look both ways before taking off over the powerlines.