eMKay

That's what I'm doing. I always wanted to fly, and finally have the extra money, that's going really well (weather permitting, I will solo Thursday or friday! Very exited!). I am planning on going all the way, IFR, Commercial, and CFI. Not ATP, I'm too old to go that route. I joined a flying club and we have 4 planes, but i love the idea of cross country flying and want to build my own. Sine that will take years, the club planes will work in the meantime. I have ordered the RV-9A preview plans, the toolbox and practice airframe part.

I'm currently an A level auto tech, tired of working on cars, and want to work on planes instead, I was exploring the idea of helping others with their build as well, since I have a lot of skill with tools, mechanical and electrical systems, pretty much everything that goes into building. I'm new to this whole world so I have a lot to learn about it, but luckily I learn quick.

Anyway, I'm happy that I finally found what I want to do with my life a little late (37) but better late than never. I have a very supportive wife, and no kids yet, but we're working on that, working for myself would help, when we have kids our plan was I would stay home, since her income is much higher. So I'd like to do a little flight instruction, work on some plane stuff, take some pictures (photography is another hobby) and live life!

Welcome to VAF!!!!

Mike, welcome to VAF.:D

Sounds like you have a good plan figured out.

Hope the weather cooperates for the solo, good luck with it.

Wow, your story sounds a l lot like my own. Started A&P school on my 35th b-day. Prior to that I earned a masters and bach degree in education. I tried public school teaching for a few years and hated every minute of it.
Upon entering A&P school I met people who were student pilots and started reading a little mag called Kitplanes. I always loved airplanes and dabbled in RC for several years but that was all I did with aviation.