tinman

Well Known Member
Is there a structural reason to not use a lexan cover over the aft fuselage elevator inspection ports? Seems like this is an important area and not inspected due to the difficulty of getting the covers off.

plastics expert needed

I asked the same a while back after seeing all the clear covers on the acros. Didnt really get any good answers. Needs to be strong, then etc but that should not be a problem with the polycarbonates etc available. It would look great, be very easy to inspect quickly and i am in if someone can suggest a suitable material.

YMMV but ...

I've been flying with lexan inspection covers since day one (July 4 2004) without any problems what so ever. I got the idea to do this from the DA20 Katana aircraft that I first learned to fly.

Pictures?

I've been flying with lexan inspection covers since day one (July 4 2004) without any problems what so ever. I got the idea to do this from the DA20 Katana aircraft that I first learned to fly.

Can you post some pictures of this?

The inspection covers on RV's should be considered a structural component (as well as the baggage bulkhead panel and tunnel covers).

I'm not saying that a clear cover can not be made that is equal to the aluminum ones, but "mine have been ok since day one" is not a good reason that everyone should do it.

If someone makes a mod that reduces their wing strength to 2.5 g"s (I'm not saying that this one does that), then in all of their flying they never pull more than two G's, does that make it appropriate to say "the mod has worked fine on my airplane"....I don't think so.

My suggestion...Think very carefully about what the true value of a mod like this will be...and what the consequences might be.

Inspection covers

My concern is that just looking at a component isn't an inspection. On my last condition inspection I found a questionable rod end only because I did a "tactile inspection," tough to do through lexan.

John Clark
RV8 N18U "Sunshine"
KSBA