RVG8tor

Well Known Member
How to make transition training available and affordable. In another thread we are discussing the need insurance companies place on getting Dual with a CFI before first flight insurance. Getting time in an RV in very important but the availability is tight an very expensive when only a CFI will do.

I can prove to the FAA that I built my airplane and can then get a repairman certificate for that aircraft. Why after flying my RV for some give number of hours say 100 can't I give transition training. If I can prove I was an instructor in another airplane then that would prove I know how to instruct perhaps going to the extent of a one time competency check. Some guys no doubt would want to charge for their time, I am not one of them, just share the operating costs and buy me a beer and we can call it good.

There is an obvious safety need for training before the first flight the amount depending on experience levels. This kind of program could be administered by the EAA much like the Flight Adviser Program, perhaps this was the original intent of the program. The FAA could approve what ever program devised by the EAA. This would greatly improve the availability of getting training which is one of the bigger barriers to getting the training in my opinion it would also make if affordable due to competition.

So how about a grass roots effort to start this program, anyone know who to contact at the EAA, perhaps this is in the works already.

Cheers.

Might be easier to get your CFI than fight the Feds

If I understand correctly from a previous post you were a military instructor at one time...if you were you can get you CFI for $150 dollar written test. There is no longer a time limit on when you instructed in the military. I used the software from this website, test was easy.

http://www.sheppardair.com/MilCompCFI.htm

Good info