n38139

Well Known Member
Anybody looking at the KT74 for an ADSB solution, price is good which is unusual for new King avionics

I would, except that I'm holding off for a few years, to see if a low cost UAT comes along.
I believe the guts of the King are made by Trig.

Anyone have one of these yet

Need to replace my transponder and this looks like a decent options.
Spruce lists them backordered till Feb 2015?
Have they been released yet?
One other question I can not find on Kings web site is if it still requires a blind encoder?

I am using a KT74 with the Dynon D6 being used as the encoder. The Garmin G3X system output is in a non-standard format, and subsequently will not feed the KT 74 altitude data. I am also feeding the KT74 with a GNS430w. This solution complies with the ADSB out requirement which was verified with the FAA in flight. I have been using this for 6 months with no issues.
I purchased the KT74 from GCA, they had it in stock. The transponder is made by Trig, and is a clone of the TT31, just a different display. It is a very nice looking unit. Garmin recently reduced the price of their 330ES but it is still more expensive than the 74. It is also 1-2" longer, which eliminated it as a candidate in my panel.

Last edited:
Anybody looking at the KT74 for an ADSB solution, price is good which is unusual for new King avionics

Price for the Trig TT31 is even better and they are basically the same unit (Trig makes the KT74 for king).

Also looking at the KT74

Price for the Trig TT31 is even better and they are basically the same unit (Trig makes the KT74 for king)

Walt, do you happen to know if the ADS-B configuration stuff on the KT74 is the same as the TT31? Bendix King unfortunately will not let mere mortals have access to the installation manual for the KT74 (I asked to get one - they said no).