redhawk

Well Known Member
I just read Steve's post on his starter problems which inspired me to post this...
I frequently (if not every 1st start of the day) will get a pretty severe kickback on initial start up on my Lyc O-360. I have 2 Bendix mags (no EI).
I am new to my RV4 (I bought it built), and am concerned that this is a bad problem to have. I also have a Skytec starter.
Is there something I can do to prevent kickback?

Thanks,
Dick
[email protected]

I just read Steve's post on his starter problems which inspired me to post this...
I frequently (if not every 1st start of the day) will get a pretty severe kickback on initial start up on my Lyc O-360. I have 2 Bendix mags (no EI).
I am new to my RV4 (I bought it built), and am concerned that this is a bad problem to have. I also have a Skytec starter.

Thanks,
Dick
[email protected]

Do you have a standard key ign switch?
If so then the first thing to check would be sure you have the ground jumper for the right (non impulse mag) installed on the starter switch.

Thanks,
Dick
[email protected]

I also had kickback problems that ruined my ring gear and one starter on an IO360-A1B6 with bendix mags. I did not have the "one mag is grounded" jumper installed. Apparently Bendix mags will throw a hot spark at relatively low rpm.

Combined with very good compressions (78 and 79/80 on most) this caused my problem. I installed the "ground the non-impulse mag" jumper on my ignition and verified that it worked. It only helped "somewhat".

In my next incarnation, I am going to have mag switches to allow me to spin the engine before engaging the mags. It almost always "kicked" on the first blade if it was going to. Funny thing, mine went a long long time before the first kickback, and then wanted to kick on almost every start after that.

A slow starter or low battery will add to the problem as well, as well as having your timing set too far advanced.

Just my 2 cents.
JP

kickback