comfortcat

Well Known Member
Friend
For my Dynon autopilot, I need to have two wires connect to a third (Red, Yellow and Black). Two into one. The one is a 1/4 spade connector. I also need to do this for my NAV lights.

Do I use a butt splice or a heat shrink with solder? Here are my options:

sg01t4.jpg

Thoughts?

Dkb

Not an expert here (but I have lots of experience soldering relatively fine electonic wires).... I've done it both ways on my RV. I prefer the solder method and pay extra to the details.

1) Make sure the wires are well twisted and tight to lay the foundation for strength. The solder is not intended to make the connection physically strong, but to make the connection electrically sound.

2) Smooth the ends of the twisted strands into the joint so they are not poking out which can later protude through the insulation of the final joint and touch other wires or the airframe.

3) Heat the joint and let the joint melt the solder. Let the solder solidify on it's own ( takes a few seconds) before allowing it to move so as not to contribute to a "cold solder" joint.

4) Heatshrinking (I do double heat shrink) or otherwise insulate the finished joint.

5) Secure the finished joint from vibration on both sides of the joint. Such as tywraping it to other wires in the bundle. I sometimes apply a third tywrap over the middle of the joint to further imobilize the vibratory movement.

6) You may want to document the joint on your drawing including location and what method was used to make the joint. Particularly if there is a wire color change. This may come in handy for troubleshooting or tracing wires years down the road.

Bevan

Last edited: