aarvig

Well Known Member
I am a newbie learning as I go so I thought I would post a pic of my recent hole deburring. I deburred the horizontal stab spars and double plates as well as all the ribs. I used a single flute, spun by hand with mild pressure (on a scale of 1 to 10 with 1 being no pressure and 10 be everything I have I was at about a 3). Is this good or do I need to change anything or is this too deep and should I start over? Thanks for the help.

DSC_0001.jpg

DSC_0005.jpg

DSC_0003.jpg

That looks good.. Basicly, you just want knock any rough edges, or burs off. If you can run your finger across the holes and not feel and roughness, you should be fine.

plenty good...just need enough pressure to remove any burrs/sharp edges, doesnt take much at all.

I'm going to disagree here (sorry). it appears to me your being a bit aggressive with the debur to the point of slightly counter sinking the holes. All that's necessary is slight pressure on the tool and once or twice around just to break the sharp edge and remove any chips that can propagate cracks. When done your holes should still have a fairly crisp edge.

good point...I dont disagree. I dont know if you can do any harm by going that deep, but its not needed. After you do several hundred, the pressure magically seems to lighten up too. :)

I'm going to disagree here (sorry). it appears to me your being a bit aggressive with the debur to the point of slightly counter sinking the holes. All that's necessary is slight pressure on the tool and once or twice around just to break the sharp edge and remove any chips that can propagate cracks. When done your holes should still have a fairly crisp edge.

Yeah,
I kind of thought that may be the case which is why I asked the question. Do I need to replace the parts or are we OK?

Here is a quote from L. Reithmaier, "Standard Aircraft Handbook", sixth ed. Page 87.