patterson

Well Known Member
Patron
Hello,

By way of introduction, I am an RV-4 builder in Northern California. My building partner and I have set about doing a new kit (#4446) with a slider. Started in December 2003....we're working on the canopy now. :cool:

In my opinion the RV-4 is WAY too hard to build in it's current configuration (a bunch of aluminum and some drawings that are often contradictory). :confused:
I too have inquired as to why Van's won't consider reverse engineering those incredibly confusing 25+ year old RV-4 plans to 'accomodate the market that would opt to purchase a QB-4 over the -8'? Answer is the -8 is a replacement for the -4 (and a better airplane overall for the mission) so there are few actual customers. In short, Van's doesn't feel there would be much real demand for a QB -4, and the cost to turn it into a QB is, as I understand it, prohibitive.

His plane, not mine, so even if I had ton's of $$$ to try turning out QB-4's.... not my plane to start with. The whole design just can't be re-done. :(

Anyway.....Howdy! Glad to be a part of the group! I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on this subject.

Ron
N8ZD (reserved)
[email protected]

Regarding incomplete plans, join the club!