cujet

Please excuse my total ignorance and any errors in terminology. I'm a long time private pilot and only fly easy VFR. My flights are generally simple (such as along the Florida coastline) and avoid controlled airspace whenever possible.

I currently use an Anywhere Map Travel Companion (1 year old) and also have the software (laptop PC based). I also have a Garmin hand held GPS.

Recently, my travel companion and Garmin GPS failed to operate in flight(unrelated failures). So, I have concluded that I would like an iPhone 4 based moving map.

I can't determine which app I need, as none of the descriptions are 100% clear to me. Bottom line: I need a capable backup with moving map, night mode, terrain, airport info and possibly weather/TFR's. Understanding that data transfer generally won't happen in flight and that using a phone in flight is prohibited. However, if I need it, I need it.

I don't need electronic sectionals, approach plates, IFR data, flight plan filing capability and the like. This is only a backup for my backup.

Thanks,

Chris

A Back-up to the Back-up

Chris,

I respectfully suggest your back-up to the back-up be a paper sectional chart. Don’t lose those pilotage skills. Just like the guys now using the new I-pad are discovering, the units are overheating in flight and are shutting down.

Tom

Last edited:
IPad/IPhone

I have sectionals but like to use my IPad/IPhone for the moving map function which works off the GPS device in both. SkyChartsPro will work in both and is $19.99 for a year's worth of current ones. My IPad has never overheated in the plane...why would it?...it doesn't overheat on the ground. In fact it has a 10 hour rechargeable battery. It worked great on a recent 26 hour/2600 nm trip to OSH/Wyoming/Texas.

Last edited:
SkyChartsPro looks good and is cheap enough. Can the moving map be de-cluttered? I would prefer a simple moving map. Not an electronic sectional.