TravisHamblen

I have received a bunch of requests for performance of my IO-390 from Barrett Precision Engines. I'm not a professional test pilot, and the data that follows was not meant to be a comparative analysis between ROP and LOP. The data below is just to samples I took during a recent flight test. As far as Barrett Precision Engines go, I would not buy an engine anywhere else. I can call them at anytime and get on the spot advice and answers from the top! Although I haven't needed any work or modifications, I know that with a phone call they will 100% stand behind the engine and do whatever needs to be done to make sure I am 100% satisfied. So I hope that answers your questions about doing business with the Barrett family.

I started off with the Van's provided Niagara 20002A cooler, which is great for a 160hp engine, not so great on 215 HP!! At 6.4 hours I upgraded to a much beefier cooler, still mounted on the back of the baffles and everything is just perfect! With the new oil cooler (Stewart Warner 10599R) I have NO oil temp problems, everything is just perfect. I experimented with leaning to best power setting and also LOP operation. LOP obviously results in MUCH better operating conditions; I can dial the engine in to almost perfect operating conditions! I have Airflow Performance fuel injection & Dynon EFIS & EMS with CHT and EGT probes on all cylinders. I have always run carbureted engines, so this ability to extremely fine-tune all the settings to almost down to a degree of change is just amazing!

If you are looking at the performance numbers, keep in mind that with the fairings installed I would get about 20 knots better performance on the RV-7A. Below are the results:

Test #1 (ROP):
47 degrees F OAT @ altitude
8600 MSL
9590 Density Alt
155 knots corrected TAS (NO FAIRINGS AT ALL)
2410 RPM
21.2" MP
1485 was approx peak EGT
Peak EGT at this setting results in 8.8 GPH
I leaned to 50 degrees ROP which results in 10.3 GPH
CHTs were 391, 393, 408, 353