kingneptune117

I'm New Here
Hey all!

I am a undergraduate at the University of Iowa studying mechanical engineering. I have a huge passion for aviation and in the future would like to purchase a RV8 kit and build one myself. This would most likely be in the far future but I want to start getting informed. I had a few questions.

1. What kinds of tools are necessary if I were to buy a quick build kit? Is it mostly just a lot of riveting, or do I need any machinery (saws, drill presses, lathe, mill, etc...) in order to build a quick build kit.

2. In reference to the image in the link below, these things sticking out are clecos right? We sometimes use these in the machine shop I work at but i'm wondering what their application is here? Do you just set them all up so everything lines up right, and then one by one remove them and put a rivet in their place?

3. How good are the instructions that come with these quick build kits?

4. Is there any custom shop work that needs to be done, or does a quick build kit include everything needed to complete the airframe?

Thanks so much guys!

Welcome

Welcome Rob.
Those are some pretty good questions.
Most could be answered best by spending a few hours with a local builder.
Until then, here goes.
1. Take a look at this thread. QB will save a lot of time but it's no where near complete. It saves all the match drilling, deburring and dimpling of skins.
http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=114322
2. Clekos, yes. No, not quite that simple. There are lots of web videos on the Eaa.org site that will explain the process in detail. Basically, insert clekos to check assembly. Pull a cleco and match drill the hole, reinstall. Disassemble. Debur holes. Dimple holes. Prime if desired. Reassemble with clekos. Pull a cleko. Insert a rivet. Set rivet. Repeat.
http://www.eaavideo.org/channel.aspx?ch=ch_hints