pierre smith

Well Known Member
....is way more difficult than I thought.

My -6A had a deposit on it from a gentleman in N.C. and when we decided to get together and deliver it, he was turned away by all insurers that my Buddy, Ray, tried to to get coverage with.

The buyer has around 80 hours and owns a Skylane, so our deal fell through and the airplane is going south instead. I'm curious if anyone else has seen this situation before.

Regards,

Just curious, was the difficulty in getting hull insurance or liability insurance (or both)? (I'm a student and wanna-be RV owner or builder, hence the curiosity).

Being new to the RV crowd, I'd be curious to hear details of the what and why as well. Was it mainly because of his student status? Low total time?

Or was it something to do with that combination in an RV?

Not to instigate thread creep, but I'd also be curious what kind of insurance requirements are generally needed to fly in the tailwheel RV's for a private pilot with a taildragger endorsement, a fair bit of TT (950), but not much TW time (10)...(ie---ME!).

Of course, I'm just talking generalities here...before I take the plunge...

Thanks!
Ryan in Madison, WI

Tim Olson has shared on the Matronics list that is was less expensive to lease a Cherokee than the premium to get his wife covered on his RV-10 while taking lessons.

Also a low time pilot building an RV7. I know I will take it in the shorts until I build hrs and I'm ok with that to build what I want. As a general reference, price breaks appear to occur at 150 TT, 15 TW, 10 transition training dual...and then again at 200 TT, 25 TW, 5 Dual. I plan to have the latter in place by the time it flies.

Insurance

Pierre,
Tried to add my son after he got his private ticket and it would have been an additional $2500. He's building time to 150 hrs and then it will be just an add on.