stathamj

I'm New Here
Hello my name is James Statham. Within the next few months my RV-7 will be ready for her first flight.
I was wanting to get some ideas on insurance and costs. If you dont want to post it are aren't allowed please email me @ [email protected]. I'm a low time pilot and even lower time tail dragging. Not counting the 7 day a week for 8 months that makes mine drag.
I'm also not wanting to start a web war. I'm just trying to find out what my options are and where I can get resonable insurance for what I need. I don't want to get anything I dont need.

Thank you in advance,

James Statham
RV-7
N957RS "Reserved"

Lots of things go into the underwriter risk (your cost). Basically every question they ask you. Stuff about the airplane / engine and stuff about you. Then they will have some things you might have to do or certain restrictions. The brokers are pretty good about explaining everything.

I'm guessing you are looking at 2500 the first year for hull and liability. Then the second year if you get some good time logged it will drop. Probably will never go below 1700 unless you have a low hull value or decide to go without hull.

I use SkySmith. They are nice to work with. My experience was probably 350 hrs total time and <10 hours of tailwheel when I first insured my RV-6. The premium was <$1,600/yr and has gradually dropped over the years to just under $1,400/yr. My hull value is set at $54k...

My annual premium is about $1300 on my -7A with a hull value of $70000 with NationAir. That was the same amount as last year. About 300 hrs. in the -7A.

Last edited: