Status
Not open for further replies.

riosouza

I'm New Here
Hi guys,
I'm a student pilot and I just did solo on an Archer ll which is a very nice trainer. I want to buy a plane instead spend $$ with rentals.
Few days ago I got and offer from a friend to buy 1/2 of his RV6 which I flew with my instructor and I just fell in love for it....geee what a sweet and wild aircraft.
I have a major problem now, being a pilot student I cannot get insurance from AVEMCO which I have my currently non-owned premium insurance with.
I want to buy this airplane so bad and besides I have the advantage of having my instructor with a lot of TD hours with his Pitts.
Is there an insurance company that would insure me while I have my instructor flying with me?
After I get my private license would I be able to use a non-owned aircraft insurance, never mentioning I purchased the RV and if anything happens tell them I borrowed it?
The reason is: I called AVEMCO to ask them how much would cost me to ensure the RV after I get my PPL and a guy told me $5,000.00!!!
I just don't want to spend that much money right now until I build up enough hours on it to lower insurance costs as an owner.:(
I will really appreciate if someone shares similar experience about this and/or what is the best direction to take.:)

Best regards,
Wilson S.

You need to call an independent agent and ask them. I use NationAir and they seem to be good. They will check all the available options and present the best to you.

For what it's worth, Avemco was my highest quote. Also, don't ask more than one agent to price shop because the underwriter at each insurer will probably just quote the same thing to each agent.

I've got almost a thousand hours, about 700 of that in the PA28.

Avemco wanted $1100/yr to insure my plain old Cherokee 140 :eek:

An independent broker sells me the same coverage for under $600/yr.

Does that tell you anything about Avemco?