OneTwoSierra

Well Known Member
I'm a low time pilot (less than 100 hours total time) getting my RV-9A ready to go, and have been in insurance hell the past week+ trying to get coverage. I finally had a break-through that I thought I'd share.

After calling 'the big guys' and being told that none of the 'normal' underwriters (including AIG) would cover me, and that my only option was to go with one of the 'high risk' underwriters for 3 grand a year with a requirement of 10 hours with a CFI in type from an underwriter in London, I began to wonder if I should just go uncovered until I had more time in type. :confused: I asked for ground only coverage instead but the agents wouldn't even ask the underwriters for this on my behalf stating that there was some perceived legal risk involved that I won't go into here. And this is from the big aircraft insurance agencies that claim to cover RVs (one in particular on this last point). :mad:

Then, while ranting to my Tech Counselor and friend, he told me of a guy who could fix me up. I was skeptical because I had heard that once one agency has been told 'no we won't cover him' by an underwriter, then you were tagged and they would tell that to any and all agents who call about you. (By the way, I belive there are only 8 underwriters total who cover experimentals, and only 2 of them are competitive, and the other 6 are high risk issuers. I could be wrong about these numbers but thats what I was told).

But I found out that with AIG, that isn't the case. Different agents call different people within the company and they don't use a system that marks you so that everyone is bound to the same initial response you were given. So if you find an agent with a great relationship and who really understands RVs, you can get coverage, and agreat a deal.