RV7Guy

Well Known Member
Okay, for those of you are current instructors or who have recently taken the FAA Instrument Written, what was the major emphasis?

The reason I'm asking is that the Gleim on line course has a very extensive section on the ADF. I spent 4 hours in this section and maybe could have been using my time more wisely. I bust my butt on that section and there might be one or two questions on the test.

I'm trying to cram for the exam so I don't want too much time between studying and test taking. My retention just isn't as good as it once was!!!

Help me out folks!!!

No short cuts

The reason I'm asking is that the Gleim on line course has a very extensive section on the ADF. I spent 4 hours in this section and maybe could have been using my time more wisely. I bust my butt on that section and there might be one or two questions on the test.

I took the test within the last year. I studied the FAA questions (which, I presume, your materials from Gleim includes) and the written test had the whole range of questions including the even more archaic nav systems. The written test in mostly an exercise in rote memory and the selection of questions seems like a random generator derived selection from the complete test bank. No shortcuts and no applying logic to which questions are most important.

The good news? You only need a 70% to pass the exam. The bad news? The scoring sheet identifies which areas you showed weakness in and the practical test examiner may focus on those ares.

Last edited:
...including the even more archaic nav systems...
Ah, just the person I need to talk to, someone that knows about the even more archaic nav systems.

It happens I recently took a flight review and AN ranges came up. I have an old memory that approaches based on the system (AN Range Approach?) had MDAs similar to what DH is for today's ILS systems.