jimgreen

Well Known Member
Time to install my shiny new RV200. Engine is an aerosport IO360. It seems straight forward but I've never done it before. Would someone walk me through it so I don't screw up?
Thanks.

I guess nobody has ever installed a prop. I just want to know if it is straight forward or if there is any special know-how required. Anyone?

Before you go ahead and mount it there "may" be a certain way. For one, the lugs may be set up such that you have to mount it in a certain position. So look closely at how far the lugs come out of the flange. Then wait for better advice than I can give.

Or consider googling "mount propeller"

Mounting prop

Jim,

I don't know where you live on Vancouver Island, but in Victoria you have several experienced RV builders. One that comes to mind is Norm Younie, and there is John Howroyd living in Victoria and finishing a new residence in Duncan with his own landing strip. Either one of the gentlemen can surely give you some guidance.

Thanks for the replies. I had already tried google with no luck.
I guess I'll check with American Propeller on Monday.

not much too it...

Jim, I have a whirlwind 200 RV prop and can give you some highlights...

make sure to remove the forward crank plug on the engine... some come with a plastic insert that is an obvious removal, others come with a metal plug that needs to be removed using a punch and pry method (I used a standard screw driver and a hammer); clean the residue from the plug seal.

inside of the prop hub there is an o-ring, make sure to lubricate it.

mount the prop; there are two lugs that are flush, the others are raised up so that you don't mess up the clocking of the blades.

start turning the lug studs by hand while holding the prop and hub to the engine... continue to tighten a bit at a time on each so that the prop hub keeps tightening uniformly.