JDanno

Well Known Member
Is it customary to use any thread lock or maybe even anti-seize on the prop flange mounting bolts? My first install so I have no experience with it. Thanks.

I just did this last week, be advised it may be helpful to pre thread the safety wire into the nut, before you get to final torque------I even had to back off a couple of nuts, insert the wire, and re torque them, just no other way to get the wire in place.

By the way, I borrowed a Snap On torque wrench from a buddy, has interchangable heads, worked perfectly for the prop nuts.

28552.JPG

36798.GIF

Glad I could borrow these, pretty pricey ------- but SWEET

Good luck.

Last edited:
I just did this last week, be advised it may be helpful to pre thread the safety wire into the nut, before you get to final torque------I even had to back off a couple of nuts, insert the wire, and re torque them, just no other way to get the wire in place.

Good luck.

That's a great tip I wish I knew two years ago! Thanks.

torquey wenches

okay, that's a nice snap-On alright...I've never seen one.
So I'd guess the other 99% of the population uses a socket and standard torque wrench, so pre-threading the wire isn't an option, right?
Since the bolts are safety'd in pairs, I'm not sure I see why they become hard to wire?....but I've not had to replace the prop yet, but I will this year when I install a crank trigger for EI.
You mechanic types can give some pointers here for all us newbies!

thx

So I'd guess the other 99% of the population uses a socket and standard torque wrench, so pre-threading the wire isn't an option, right?
Since the bolts are safety'd in pairs, I'm not sure I see why they become hard to wire?....
thx

This is mostly a CS prop thing. For a non CS prop you can use regular sockets and get the wire on easily. The Hartzell hub makes it hard to get the wire in from some positions (you also have to use an adapter or mod a crescent wrench)

Safety wire Hartzell

Per Hartzell: