notworthy

I'm New Here
Long term lurker here asking a question for a friend...

Has anyone ever heard of a DAR requiring an initial sign off of an EAB by an A&P IA before they will do the inspection and issue an airworthiness certificate?

I have never seen this mentioned before....

Last edited:
The DAR cannot legally require a A&P sign off. There was some confusion several years ago. It is now stated within FAA Order 8130.2F that an A&P sign off is NOT required. The builder must make a statement that he has inspected the aircraft and considers it to be in a condition for safe operation.
ref: FAA Order 8130.2F, paragraph 147.b.(7)

Last edited:
It's truly amazing how the standards vary between DARs. I'm sure they all have good reasons.

I would've fully understood if my DAR had suggested that, since I was a first-time builder with ZERO aircraft systems/building experience, it would be helpful for us both if I had an AP/IA give the project a good once-over. And, I sort of did -- he stopped by several times and walked around, nosing here and there. Unfortunately, however, he was so blown away by how neat and clean everything looked (like most APs, he's used to working on well-worn spam cans caked in gook), that he never really delved into anything significant. He just poked around, grinning. However, a few other sets of knowledgeable eyes went over it before the DAR did his inspection.

If, on the other hand, I'd already successfully built a plane (or planes as many of you have) and had a DAR insist or even suggest that, I think I'd find a different DAR. But that's just me.

My DAR "suggested" that I have such an entry in my log book. I was lucky in that my brother is an A&P (not IA) and he inspected my workmanship many times throughout the build process.

The first entry in my log book is Walt's professionally worded statement that he signed. One look at that by the DAR and the rest of inspection was a breeze.