prkaye

Well Known Member
I'm a VFR pilot with a VFR airplane and don't plan on changing that. However, I've been looking for new challenges and new things to learn. Learning some of the skills of IFR flying appeals to me. Too reiterate - I'm NOT looking to set my plane up for legal IFR flight, nor am I looking to get a rating. I'm just thinking it would be nice to have a basic setup to learn how to do some VOR navigation, ILS approaches, and just some of the neat stuff real IFR pilots do.
Garmin SL-30 radios are really expensive, and I just can't justify that expense right now for what I want to do. I'm wondering what would be an inexpensive way to get a basic NAV radio setup for learning (not for actual IMC flight). I'd also need something by way of CDI/glidescope display (I don't want to use my existing Dynon because I want to keep my EFIS+EMS displayed on there at all times). Used gear is an option.
Any suggestions?

I'm a VFR pilot with a VFR airplane and don't plan on changing that. However, I've been looking for new challenges and new things to learn. Learning some of the skills of IFR flying appeals to me. Too reiterate - I'm NOT looking to set my plane up for legal IFR flight, nor am I looking to get a rating. I'm just thinking it would be nice to have a basic setup to learn how to do some VOR navigation, ILS approaches, and just some of the neat stuff real IFR pilots do.
Garmin SL-30 radios are really expensive, and I just can't justify that expense right now for what I want to do. I'm wondering what would be an inexpensive way to get a basic NAV radio setup for learning (not for actual IMC flight). I'd also need something by way of CDI/glidescope display (I don't want to use my existing Dynon because I want to keep my EFIS+EMS displayed on there at all times). Used gear is an option.
Any suggestions?

Phil,