BHunt

Well Known Member
I've been in South Korea for the past year and a half thinking about the day I will return to 'Merica and start looking into airplane ownership. I just found out my next assignment will be taking me to Hill AFB in June. I am not ready to build, being still on active duty and I want to be able to fly now, but would be interested in an opportunity to learn what it takes to own an airplane. I am originally from Lemoore, CA so an airplane would allow be to be home in a 3+ hr flight vs an 11.5 hr drive. I have a buddy at Hill that tells me he was able to work a deal with an owner to fly his airplane and pay a portion of fixed costs. I am just trying to see what the RV community is like around Hill AFB and what my options are.

FWIW, I am an F-16 pilot with about 300 hrs in the Viper, close to 600 hrs total. Commercial Multi-Eng, centerline thrust. Not High Perf or tailwheel but looking to get those endorsements as soon as I get back to the states.

Look forward to talking to anyone in the area.

...I am an F-16 pilot with about 300 hrs in the Viper...

While I do recognize that we are talking very different airplanes here and that a good checkout is very much appropriate, I do have to grin at the idea that an F-16 pilot is required to get a "high performance" endorsement to fly a relatively low powered and slow puddle jumper.

While I do recognize that we are talking very different airplanes here and that a good checkout is very much appropriate, I do have to grin at the idea that an F-16 pilot is required to get a "high performance" endorsement to fly a relatively low powered and slow puddle jumper.

Ha. I've often thought about that one myself.