sjhurlbut

Well Known Member
I'm fighting a battle here in Canada of whether I need a TSO'd altimeter or not for IFR flight.

I've had the "VFR only" restrictions removed over 2 years ago and have been flying IFR with a non-TSO'd altimeter all along.

Now it time to get my re-cert and the avionics shop insists I need to replace my altimeter (which works perfectly) for a $850 TSO'd version. This is despite the fact that a senior advisor from Transport Canada agrees with me that I DO NOT require a TSO'd altimeter (have the email to prove it). Since there is only 1 avionics shop in the Canadian maritimes I'm kind of stuck until the issue gets sorted out. So either I've been flying IFR illegally for 2 years or someone else has the info wrong.

So I'm looking for US documentation that specifically says TSO'd equipment is not required for IFR flight in amateur built aircraft. If I can find the US documents it will help track down the Canadian equivalent.

Thanks
Steve
7A Flying

Issues

1. Canadian rules are likely different than U.S. If the airplane is to be registered in Canada then U.S. rules won't help you much.
2. If you intend to fly to the U.S. then when crossing the border except with a prior, explicit waiver, you will need and operating Mode C transponder and that does have to be TSO'd.
3. I can't cite the rule in the FAR's but my altimeter IS certified for IFR flight and is NOT TSO'd. That said, it did have to have an IFR check to 20,000' by a technician legally entitled to perform it.
That check included the reported pressure altitude sent to the transponder.
4. There is a mutual letter between FAA and Transport Canada. EAA has a copy on their website. If you intend to fly in the U.S. then carry a copy of the letter with your aircraft papers.

I hope this helps a little.

1. Canadian rules are likely different than U.S. If the airplane is to be registered in Canada then U.S. rules won't help you much.