60Bubba

So as a military pilot, my aircraft has a GPS about as advanced (in display and function) as Pong, for those of you who remember it. Now that I'm flying GA again, I'm interested in getting a tool to help increase my SA when I fly rental aircraft, many of which have just VOR/ILS.

Specifically, I'd like a GPS with VFR sectionals, IFR low enroute, and a moving map, all with a nice (greater than 5") display. Any other features such as weather and fuel cost are just bonuses. Since this will be used in rentals, portability is a must.

To stay under $1,000, it seems my best options are the iPad with ForeFlight HD, and the iFly 700. I don't need autopilot connectivity at this point, so on paper, the two seem pretty evenly matched. I know we've had some beta testers for the iFly on this site, but I'm wondering if anyone has seen/used the two side by side?

According to the ForeFlight folks, they feel the GPS in the iPad 3G isn't up to the task when it comes to accuracy and ability to maintain signal lock, though they have a video of it at 10,000+ feet with an accuracy of 5-10M. This is part of the reason they aren't georeferencing the approach plates, though they are advertising two add on iPad external GPS modules that may increase accuracy and reliability for future software releases.

I'm really unsure as to how to proceed, and I'm looking for input. Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Case

I just finished comparing the two. I ended up with an IPAD. I really like the IFlyGPS, but for about $400 more you can get a device that does all that and more (like hanging around VAF).

Now, our situation is a bit different. I have the Garmin 510 and Skyview GPS's and the IPAD is really just for flight planning, charts, plates and passenger entertainment. I have only used it on one flight and didn't have it mounted. There are other threads that speak to it's accuracy and usefulness as a GPS.