szicree

Well Known Member
Today, while trying to get my flaps rigged and straring at all those lightening holes, the thought occurred to me that much more weight could be shaved off. I'm no engineer and have no intention of modifying my ship, but I can't help but wonder just how light an RV could be without sacrificing strength. I mean, surely many more holes could be drilled all over the place. Also, I assume that during the design process one must choose between different readily available thicknesses of stock, erring on the side of too thick. For example, if .032 is too thin, but .040 is too thick, we go with .040. But perhaps .035 would be just right, yet unavailable. It's obvious that many parts on the RV are cut from .032 angle just to keep things simple and the materials list down, but I wonder just how light an RV could be if everything were optimized. I'm a cyclist old enough to remember 25 pound bicycles being considered light, when my current bike is about 15. Anybody think an 800 lb RV is possible?

szicree said: